QBL 2017 Grand Final Wrap Up

QBL Grand Final Results – Men

Townsville Heat (90) v Mackay Meteors (74)

Both teams jumped out of the blocks in Game 3, with Mackay taking a narrow 26-25 lead into the first break. Chris Cedar led the charge for the Metoers with 18 in the first. The second quarter saw many lead changes and Peter Crawford was able to hit a big 3 just before the major break to give Townsville a 49-47 lead. The Heat came out firing in the third and stretched their lead to 16, with 2:55 remaining in the third. Chris Cedar continued to ht from deep to keep Mackay’s slim comeback chances alive. Another Crawford 3 had Townsville up 18 with 6:58 left, before a 10-0 Mackay run had the game back within 8. Every time Cedar hit, Crawford seemed to answer as Townsville was able to runaway with a 103-91 win and the #QBL17 Men’s Championship. Chris Cedar was a star finishing with a whopping 50 points for Mackay, whilst Crawford put in 23 for the winners, including 7/7 from downtown. Heat point guard Josh Wilcher was awarded the Grand Final Series MVP.


QBL Grand Final Results – Women

Brisbane Spartans (76) vs Mackay Meteorettes (74)

A tense and absorbing contest saw the Southern Districts Lady Spartans edge the Mackay Meteorettes 70 to 66 to take the 2017 QBL Women’s Grand Final in 2 games.  Aja Parham sank 2 clutch free throws to edge Spartans out to a 4point lead, and they held on to clinch a well deserved victory and go through the season undefeated.  Both teams left nothing in the tank, and when one team looked to be pulling away, the other mounted a spirited comeback.  Spartans were leading by Grand Final Series MVP Ashleigh Karaitiana. with Aja Parham, Kalani Purcell and Maddison Allen also being leading contributors.  For the Meteorettes, who were brave and worthy runners-up, Nadeen Payne was the leading scorer, while Chenvannah Paalvast, Tami Willey and Micaela Cocks continually challenged the Spartans.  Congratulations to both teams for an enthralling series, with Spartans taking the honours and being crowned 2017 QBL Womens Champions.


  Related Posts